Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

https://i0.wp.com/www.jetlifebeats.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/bugatti-ace-hood-mike-will-600x600.jpg

If you’ve read this blog before, you probably already know my stance on modern hip hop. Rather than bore you with those details, I would like to present “Bugatti”, another in a string of ubiquitous productions from beatsmith of the moment, Mike Will Made It.

On the one hand, there is nothing on this track that you haven’t already heard. Ace Hood raps like starving man biting into a mountain of barbecue ribs, but somehow his hunger seems manufactured. That’s not to say that it is, but given the amount of singles I’ve heard from him that sound this way, I can’t help but get deja-vu from his delivery.

There’s also Rick Ross, once again using his self perpetuating mythical Don persona that no one seems to have tired of yet, and Future’s blunt-and lean inspired vocals belting out yet another hook. Also, Mike Will Made It’s production feels worn at this point, given how many similar-sounding beats he’s got out there at the moment.

Even with all that considered, I gotta admit –  this song is addictive. From the moment I heard it, I couldn’t unhear it, but in a good way. It’s stuck on repeat in my Spotify at the moment.

I hate and love this song, just as I hate and love myself.

I hate and love this song, just as I hate and love myself.

And I’m so ashamed of that, I have to give our official symbol of disapproval to myself.

The official Tom and Tom symbol for disapproval.

The official Tom and Tom symbol for disapproval.

Menacing tones coast along during Future’s pre-hook, giving the impression you’re heading into a storm. Then as he announces “TURN UP”! You’re thrust head first into the eye of the hurricane. And even though I’ve heard all these guys’ schtick before, it doesn’t sound any worse for wear. This is ignorant rap at its finest, from individuals who know their genre and audience like the back of their hand.

In the end, Ace Hood has done enough with “Bugatti” to make a lasting impression this time around – or at least enough of one to merit a cursory listen to what else he has up his sleeve.

"I.... immediately regret this decision!"

“I…. immediately regret this decision!”

Rating: 3.7 out of 5 stars

