Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It pains me to discuss Tom’s list, because music is intensely personal and no one’s tastes match, nor should they. It feels kind of like a cheap shot to criticize someone’s choices.

Also, I was amused how much of a populist list this was from someone with Tom’s music industry background. I was expecting a rare song from an Aborigine group that only used instruments made of coral reef and shark bones.

Or this.

Or this.

He went with Sade, Marvin Gaye and Genesis. Thanks for making me look like a hipster. Then again, there are no black hipsters.

There are some high points on this list, you can’t go wrong with Marvin Gaye, I could listen to “Love Ballad” on a continuous loop and never get tired of it, the Sade song isn’t my favorite one by her, but it’s Sade. I loved the inclusion of David McCallum, because the whole crime jazz thing is pretty cool.

Lauren Hill is a heartbreaking talent, just seeing her on the list is hard, because she was so great. Kool and the Gang is an underrated band, so it’s good to see someone rep them too. I’m sort of intrigued with the idea of Wu-Tang Clan’s “Triumph” as being the pinnacle of hip-hop. He used Sister Nancy as his reggae representative, my first list included Slim Smith. I don’t mind that.

Also he included James Brown. If there’s anything that pisses me off about black people its that we are disinterested in preserving our history or memories. James Brown is a musical giant, and people are forgetting about him and the idea that kids would grow up and not know who he is is intolerable.

Here’s my problem with his list.

Remember when Britney Spears did the Michael Jackson comeback concert, and she looked phenomenal? Just super hot?

And then remember when she fell apart, gained weight, went completely crazy, started walking around barefoot, and then moved on from her backup dancer to a guy she met in rehab?

Britney Spears wanders around a rehab facility in LA after checking in for an undisclosed treatment

Tom did the musical equivalent of picking crazy, bad weave Britney.

There were two Phil Collins, the uncanny power pop guy (In The Air Tonight, Just a Job to Do, Against All Odds, etc), and the guy that would ride a dull melody into the ground (Follow You Follow Me, Two Hearts). Tom picked bad Phil. I think I’m probably on a desert island just to get away from “That’s All.”

And one bad Phil Collins song wasn’t enough, the whole column ends on “Take me Home.” The last song we put is going to be the first thing anyone remembers. His list will be remembered for Phil Collins “Take me Home.”

I risk my man card here, but Coldplay has made some good songs.

Rats. I was afraid of that.

Rats. I was afraid of that.

This is not one of them. “Trouble” combines boring, with sad, with kinda long. Also, Tom said my list was depressing. Pot, meet kettle.

Daft Punk just made an incredible album with Nile Rodgers and Pharell Williams. Really exciting stuff, it sounded retro and fresh at the same time. Tom ignored Random Access Memories and picked their old, unambitious house single “One More Time.” Yikes.

The Bee-gees are associated with disco, but they were uncanny songwriters beginning with their Beatle-esque single “New York Mining Disaster 1941” (which they wrote as teenagers!) or the touching “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart?” or “Emotion.” Tom picked “You Should Be Dancing,” from the most dated part of their musical catalog.

Ray Charles was a tremendous talent, but “Lonely Avenue” is only two minutes and thirty seven seconds long and it feels like ten, mostly it is built on one riff that is beaten into the ground every two seconds. You want great Ray Charles? Try “I’ve Got News for You.”

In short, I can’t argue with his artists, but I don’t understand some of his picks. But it is his island. Just stay off of mine.

