Tags

, ,

Next year, they are releasing a Suicide Squad movie. Maybe that doesn’t mean much to you, and maybe you care because Will Smith is in it, or its the next appearance of the Joker and you want to see how Jared Leto does, and those aren’t bad reasons.

But the Suicide Squad is one of the best traditional ensemble titles of all time. (I say ‘traditional’ in the sense that it was an old-school, non-digital comic that didn’t have aspirations on being high art, unlike more radical sensibilities that have happened mostly in the last thirty or so years.)

Done by writers John Ostrander and Kim Yale, its a simple concept – the government uses super-powered criminals and their flawed handlers to do the dirty work that lilly white superhero teams won’t do.

Suicide_Squad_0024

So what’s so great about it?

Tough question. I COULD write an article about it. Or I could painstakingly scan portions from my comic collection and show you what I mean, a labor intensive move that I will almost immediately regret. But this blog is all about labor intensive stuff that I regret.

So over the next few months, or until my scanner blows up, we will have an adventure with the Suicide Squad.

